Spain, where clothing is optional but Seafood is not

Last week we got the chance to go into Barcelona and go to the beach. As always, however, it was an adventure getting there.

We took the bus from Torrelles to Villa Franca, and then waited and took the bus from Villa Franca to Barcelona, then we walked about fifteen minutes until we realized that walking just wasn’t a practical way to go, so we got on another bus and took a very long bus ride down to the harbor where we walked the rest of the way to the beach.

The water was amazingly clear, and it was a nice warm day. The beach was incredibly crowded but that didn’t surprise me. The thing that DID catch me a bit off guard however was the fact that the beach was topless, which is totally fine, but one can never fully prepare oneself for the casual way woman will just sit around half naked. It was just a little weird, and I was and always will be perfectly happy keeping my clothes on.

As we were waling to and from the beach the thing I noticed was every single restaurant (and there were many) had a paella and sangria special. I had been told by a friend that this was a great combo and very popular in Spain but I had no idea to what extent. In fact seafood in general is such a huge industry. I mean you can buy calamari rings the same way you buy onion rings in the states. That’s pretty awesome if you ask me.

Other than that one outing life in Spain is pretty much just like life every where else. I work, I watch Netflix, I eat. Life is life everywhere you go.

Categories: Spain | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

