An Accurate Picture of My Life At This Point-Two Days on Top of A Mountain Somewhere in North Carolina

So first of all, when I say on top of a mountain, I mean literally my friend’s house is on top of a mountain in Mars Hill, just outside of Asheville North Carolina. Secondly, this two-day trip has really been a great reflection of who I am as a person right now.

We started our visit by putting on makeup, doing our hair, getting dressed up, and driving down the mountain to the Biltmore, which is this gorgeous mansion and property built by one of the Vanderbilts back in day. The whole grounds are absolutely stunning, and we didn’t get to go tour the house, but even just driving over to the winery was beautiful. We got tot he winery, we walked through the tunnel that leads past the wine tasting, and into the gift shop, where we proceeded to eat as many samples as we could when the workers weren’t looking. Because when you have $3 in your bank account, that’s the only way to live.

After our fancy adventure, we went to Papas and Beer, a delightful little Mexican restaurant in Asheville. They have awesome bean dip, the best rice I’ve ever eaten, and, my friends’ favorite part, a salsa bar. I’m not kidding about that rice though, it was freaking amazing. And the Flautas I got were definitely worth another trip to this little gem. We could only eat half before we had to push away our plates we were so full. I was really looking forward to the leftovers, unfortunately, we both left our boxes at the table. Both of us. Our individual boxes were sitting in front of us, and neither of us grabbed them. I really don’t know what the heck is wrong with us, but I’m also not really surprised.

We decided to stop by the grocery store on the way back to pick up some things, and then proceeded to stand in front of the largest Orange Juice aisle I have ever seen and debate whether it was cheaper to buy 2 small bottles for $3, or one large one…can you tell we’re communications majors? (Spoiler we got the two small ones). On the way out I saw a little cherry pie and I had to buy it. Then I ate it while we were waiting for the cashier to grab something from the back. I’m really classy. I know.

On the way back up the mountain we listened to CDs ranging from Mumford and Sons, and Red Hot Chili Peppers, to Drake and Nicki Minaj. Are you getting the picture yet?

After watching Netflix until 1am I woke up, dragged myself into clothing, and we drove back down into town to attend a Zumba class. Now, if you have never attended a Zumba class, I would highly recommend it. Yes, it is a great way to work out and have fun with Latin music and hip shaking, but the real reason to go, is the other people who attend these classes.

Now I can’t say for sure, but I assume that at YMCAs all across America there are these types of people swinging their hips in all directions; You have the professionals, the people who show up wearing their Zumba gear with the big logo across it. They are there every week, they know every step, they are in the front, putting all the other middle-aged white ladies to shame.

Then there is that one lady in the corner dancing to her own beat, not even bothering to do the moves the teacher is, just a free spirit who is there to feel the music.

There is one guy who is really into it, and you can tell he wants so badly to be the best, but bless his heart he really has no rhythm, but he always has a smile on his face.

Of course there are the moms who are too busy to work out for more than 45 minutes a day, and have finally found a release for all that mommy stress. These are typically the woman with the most energy, sweating buckets.

And finally there are people like me, who are there to sweat a little, trying to keep up, but mostly just getting distracted by everyone around me. (Also there was the sweetest old Indian man who was shaking with the best of them)

My visit has concluded with a home cook southern meal, complete with Brown Beans and Cornbread, and I couldn’t be happier. Tomorrow I’m up bright and early and off on my six hour car ride to Atlanta Georgia where I will be attending a high school sports banquet…wish me luck.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

